All projects experiment presentation book

Having collected up  all the experiments I had produced throughout this semester, I decided to compile them altogether and create a large A3 size book. This seemed like the most approrpriate option to present my experimentations instead of them beingcompiled as loose sheets of paper with no structure.

The first task was to cut the loose sheets down to an appropriate size so that they may fit the book pages. This in itself was timeconsuming due to the sheer volume of loose sheets of paper. Granted, some of the experiments were duplicated a number of times with varying results. Therefore, I selected the ones from these that I thought were most successful.

Creating the book fairly simple; single sheets of thick paper sewn together using japanese stitching with a cartridge paper cover. The experiments were then then fixed in the book using spray mount. When determining which experiments to place in which order, I used the same narrative structure as my projects.

IMG_9690IMG_9688

When adding the title and my name on the book cover, I wished to choose a method and medium that related to the content of the book. Therefore, with the spare wooden block letterforms I had produced by laser cutting for my personal project, I used these alongside block printing ink to create the the typography for the cover and title of the project experiments inside. unfortunately, a couple of  wooden letter stamps that I required for a particular word did not exist as I had not had them laser cut.  However, this was simple to adapt as I used a brush to draw the letter instead.

IMG_9685IMG_9681

 

 

 

Leave a comment